Auto insurance offsets damages caused from vehicle accidents paid through monthly premiums. Drivers not having coverage in Chicago, Illinois, may have to pay fines and other penalties if they police catch them without it. There is a minimum drivers must buy to drive legally on public roads.
Minimum insurance requirements
In Illinois, a driver must purchase a minimum of $25,000/$50,000/$20,000, which correspond to bodily injury, maximum per accident, and property damage, respectively. Bodily injury covers medical expense, lost wages, and funeral expenses for car accidents caused by the driver. The maximum per accident refers to each car accident with multiple passengers, meaning that passengers get covered to the limit collectively.
Property damage pays for damages caused to property or other vehicles by the at-fault driver. Drivers are also required to carry a minimum $20,000/$40,000 uninsured motorist coverage, which pays for damages caused by uninsured drivers. The minimum coverage in Illinois does not pay for rental vehicle reimbursement or roadside assistance.
At-fault accident vs. comparative fault insurance claims
Illinois is an at-fault state, or tort state, which means the driver who causes the car accident must pay the costs. In comparative fault states, the drivers usually share the responsibility of car accidents.
Car insurance in fault-states commonly costs less than states with comparative fault, and it doesn’t restrict damages drivers can recover. Comparative fault limits what drivers can recover by assigning a percentage of fault.
If the at-fault driver’s insurance determine them to be at fault, they should offer a settlement. The non-fault driver usually must sign a damage release statement saying they won’t seek further compensation.
While many insurance providers prefer to stay out of court, others won’t corporate so easily. If a driver can’t get a fair settlement from the at-fault driver’s provider, they should seek legal assistance.